Creating and sharing knowledge for telecommunications

Works developed at IT distinguished in the ANACOM-URSI annual congress

on 03-01-2019

... As it happened in previous years IT was once again very well represented in the “XII Congresso do Comité Português da URSI”, held last December 14 at the Fundação Portuguesa das Comunicações, in Lisbon, with two of its students winning the first and second places of the Best Student Paper Award.

With the aim of encouraging young authors, since 2011 ANACOM has sponsored the Best Student Paper Award, in the amount of 500€, to be awarded to the best article submitted by a student, who is the first author of the article to be presented in the annual Congresso do Comité Português da URSI.

Solange Silva, a PhD student from Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia of the University of Coimbra, was awarded the first place, which amounts to 500€, for her work “Trapping Light in Open Nanocavities with Spatial Dispersion”. In her work, developed at IT in Coimbra under the coordination of Tiago Morgado and Mário Silveirinha, Solange Silva demonstrated that spatial dispersion effects open novel possibilities for inducing embedded eigenstates in plasmonic nanostructures, which can have applications in optical memories and others. Unlike the local meta-atom configurations, the nonlocal particle is capable of sustaining multifrequency embedded eigenstates for the same geometry.

The second place went to Filipa Fernandes for the work “Simulation of MIMO Channel for 5G in Millimeter Waves”. The MsC student from Instituto Superior Técnico has developed her work at IT in Lisbon under the coordination of António Rodrigues and Maria Paula Queluz. Filipa Fernandes developed a MIMO channel simulator for millimeter-waves, which, contrary to the existing ones, considers the antennas' real-life conditions and detailed test conditions, which allows to evaluate different types of antennas for mm-wave in terms of implementation on mobile phones

Photo: Solange Silva with the Vice-President of ANACOM, João Coelho

Mário Silveirinha awarded £350,000 research grant to ‘break’ time-reversal symmetry with mechanical motion

on 01-01-2019

... Professor Mário Silveirinha, from the University of Lisbon and researcher at IT is the winner of the £350,000 IET A. F. Harvey Engineering Research Prize. He was chosen from high-calibre candidates from across the world as a result of his new approach and vision of how time reversal symmetry can be broken with ‘mechanical motion’, such as by injecting a drift electric current into a material.

The funding will support a further five years of work with the aim of showing how such solutions may enable the one-way propagation of microwave and terahertz waves totally immune to the undesired effects of back-scattering by obstacles, imperfections, and other deformations of the propagation path.

Professor Silveirinha, said: “I am extremely honoured to receive the IET A. F. Harvey Engineering Research Prize. It is rather inspiring that Dr. Arthur F. Harvey was himself one of the pioneers of nonreciprocal microwave devices, and I am thrilled that I will be able to build my own research on nonreciprocal and topological electromagnetics with the generous support of his Prize and contribute with innovative solutions for future technologies”.

Sir John O’Reilly, Chair of the IET’s Selection Committee for the Prize, said: “Prof. Mário G. Silveirinha is awarded the A F Harvey Research Prize in recognition of his outstanding research achievements and as a pioneer in the field of near-zero index materials and photonics. This is a fundamental research area that will have important implications for applications such as mobile radio, radar, and optical fibre communication networks in the future.”

The IET’s A F Harvey Research Prize, worth £350,000, is named after Dr. A. F. Harvey who bequeathed a generous sum of money to the IET for a trust fund to be set up in his name for the furtherance of scientific research into the fields of medical, microwave, laser or radar engineering.

Prof. Mário Silveirinha will present a prize lecture on his research at IET London: Savoy Place on 18 March 2019.